Short History
Erciyes University was established under the name of Kayseri University in 1978. Gevher Nesibe School of Medicine, which was established as an affiliate of Hacettepe University, Ankara, in 1968 and Kayseri Faculty of Business Administration, founded in 1977, both constituted the core of Erciyes University. The Institute of Theology, founded in 1967 and thereafter called as the Faculty of Theology, and Kayseri State Academy of Architecture and Engineering, founded in 1977 and thereafter called as the Faculty of Engineering were incorporated in the university. Immediately after, the Faculties of Science and Arts were established. In 1982, the name of the university was converted to Erciyes University. Faculty of Architecture,  Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Fine Arts in 1992; Faculty of Engineering-Architecture/YOZGAT in 1993; Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences and Faculty of Science and Arts in Yozgat; Economics and Administrative Sciences/NEVSEHIR; Faculties of Dentistry and Communication; Faculty of Education in 2001; Law and Pharmacy in 2003; Develi Seyrani Faculty of Agriculture in 2005 were affiliated to Erciyes University.
The university has 19 Faculties, 7 Institutes, 2 Vocational Colleges, 44 Research Centers, 5 Libraries and 140 Student Clubs and it also serves with its research hospital with 1350 beds. Except Gevher Nesibe Hospital, Cardiovascular Hospital, Organ Transplant and Dialysis Hospital, Oncology Hospital, Children’s Hospital and Bone Marrow Transplant and Stem Cell Therapy Center are among the most important health institutions in the region.
Colleges; Physical Education&Sports, Kayseri Atatürk Health College, Civil Aviation, Foreign Languages, Tourism and Hotel Management, Nevsehir Tourism and Hotel Management, Nevsehir Health College, and Yozgat Health College. Vocational Colleges; Kayseri Vocational College, Halil Bayraktar Health Services, Safiye Cikrikcioglu Vocational College, Kocasinan Vocational College, Social Sciences, Nevsehir Vocational College, Yozgat Vocational College and Develi Vocational College. Faculties, colleges and vocational colleges in Erciyes University Yozgat Campus became affiliated to Yozgat Bozok University founded in 2006; on the other hand,  the ones in Nevsehir Campus to Nevsehir University in 2007.
The name of Kocasinan Vocational College was altered to Mustafa Cikrikcioglu Vocational College in 2006.
Erciyes University Faculty of Arts and Science were separated as Faculty of Science and Faculty of Arts in 2010.
Bünyan Vocational College was established in 2006, Vocational College of Justice in 2010, Tomarza Vocational College in 2011.
Faculty of Aeronautics And Astronautics and Faculty of Applied Sciences were established in 2012. College of Civil Aviation was turned into the Faculty of Aeronautics And Astronautics in 2015. College of Tourism and Hotel Management was turned into Faculty of Tourism in 2013.
Pinarbasi Vocational College was established in 2016.
1 Faculty and 11 Vocational Schools that were separated from Erciyes University became affiliated to Kayseri University, which was founded with the Law on the Amendment of the Law on Higher Education and Certain Laws and Decree Laws published in the Official Gazette No. 30425 dated May 18, 2018. Faculty of Applied Sciences, Bunyan Vocational School, Develi Hüseyin Sahin Vocational School, Mustafa Cikrikcioglu Vocational School, Pinarbasi Vocational School, Safiye Cikrikcioglu Vocational School, Social Sciences Vocational School, Tomarza Mustafa Akincioglu Vocational School, Yahyali Vocational School, Vocational School and newly established Yesilhisar Vocational School and Incesu Vocational School were transferred to Kayseri University.
Erciyes University offers degree programs to aproximately 51.000 students and employs nearly 2300 academic staff.
Graduate degree programs in Erciyes University became more recognizable especially after 1984. There are almost 6.000 master degree students in total and nearly 1.700 PhD students in total studying at graduate schools at the following graduate schools: Atatürk's Principles and Revolution History, Educational Sciences, Fine Arts, Gevher Nesibe Genome and Stem Cell, Health Sciences, Natural and Applied Sciences, Social Sciences.
ERU enables an integration in its vicinity by offering educational, research and health services. The construction of a considerable part of infrastructure and service buildings was ensured by the benefactors in the city, and after all furnishings and installations were completed, these buildings were donated to our university. Such an application has constituted a brand-new model for our country. The university has made progress in the direction of a center of excellence as a result of the developments in recent years. ERU, by reassuring and encouraging hope, has caused an image called “Our University” to appear in the society.
Erciyes University, 38039 Kayseri, Turkey. I Phone: +90 352 207 66 66
2015 - 2020 © ERÜ Web Content Management System